Baltimore County Teacher Receives International Tech Education Award For Innovative Educational Video Games


Credit: Baltimore County Public Schools/ Facebook

BALTIMORE COUNTY - Justin Patterson, a technology education department chair and interactive media production instructor at Chesapeake High School STEM Academy, has been honored with the distinguished "20 to Watch Award" from the International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE).

ISTE recognizes 20 emerging individuals annually through this award, acknowledging their outstanding contributions and accomplishments in their respective fields. The recognition shines a spotlight on those whose innovative projects or research showcases excellence and can serve as models for others.

Patterson has a record of high achievement. Earlier this year, he earned the title of Region 1 Teacher of the Year by Magnet Schools of America. In addition, last fall, he was honored as the Baltimore County Public Schools Magnet Teacher of the Year.

Maggie Cummins, the magnet coordinator and staff development teacher at Chesapeake High, highlighted Patterson's passion for developing educational video games.

"Justin Patterson's passion for creating educational video games has flourished into a robust magnet program supporting our teachers and community members with engaging experiences by empowering Interactive Media Production students to create video games that directly impact their peers and local businesses. I think we are the only school in the nation where students are making educational game software themselves as a teaching tool for educators in other departments. While these games are being played in-house, the goal is for systemwide use!"

Cummins believes their school is uniquely positioned to innovate in this area, as their students are actively creating educational game software to be used as teaching tools by educators in other departments.

Patterson's video game project has been selected as a premier session at this year's ISTE conference. He will preside over the session alongside his students and fellow faculty members, Cummins, Keisha Maddox, the Business Department Chair, and Courtney Rohde, the Science Department Chair.

"Justin's innovative work with his students and colleagues around building educational video games has been nothing short of amazing to watch," Cummins added. "What makes this [ISTE 20 to Watch] award so impressive to me is that nominations were gathered globally, and winners span from Tunisia to Argentina to Essex, Maryland."

More News from Perry Hall
I'm interested
I disagree with this
This is unverified